Padma awards 2017- The complete list of Padma Awardees


New Delhi: On Wednesday, the Indian government announced Padma awards 2017  to citizens of the country for their distinguished contribution in various spheres.These awards are given by the President of India at ceremonial functions usually around March/April which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan every year. 89 persons are selected for Padma Awards this year. The list comprises of 7 Padma Bhushan, 7 Padma Vibhushan and 75 Padma Shri Awards. Out of them 19 are women, 6 posthumous awardees and 5 persons from the category of foreigns, NRI and PIOs.


Political stalwarts Murli Manohar Joshi, Sharad Pawar, P.A. Sangma and Yesudas Carnatic Musician figured among the list of seven people who were selected for Padma Vibhushan, country’s second highest civilian award. The highest civilian honour Bharat Ratna award, will not be conferred on anybody this year.
Among the other awardees in this category were the former chairman of ISRO Prof Udipi Ramachandra Rao, spiritual master Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev, yogi and mystic having 70 lakh volunteers across the world, and Sunder Lal Patwa, former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh and a BJP veteran.This is for the first time, the Padma award list does not include any Bollywood actor. Father of laparoscopic surgery in India Tehemton Udwadia, Grammy awardee and Hindustani classical instrumentalist Vishwa Mohan Bhat, Thai Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhron, Yoga Guru Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati were among seven people selected for Padma Bhushan.


Other awardees in this category are Sanskrit scholar Devi Prasad Dwivedi, editor and political satirist Cho Ramaswamy, on whom the award will be conferred posthumously and jain Spiritual Guru Ratna Sundar Maharaj. Virat Kohli, Indian cricket team captain, the first woman wrestler Sakshi Malik from the country to win an Olympic medal, former Lok Sabha secretary general T.K. Vishwanathan, former diplomat Kanwal Sibal, chef Sanjeev Kapoor and singer Kailash Kher are among 75 people chosen for Padma Shri awards 2017. M.M. Godbole Well known

M.M. Godbole Well known endocrinologist , film critic Bhawana Somaaya, K.N. Pandita Farsi writer and French historian Michel Danino were among others selected for Padma Shri awards. The government had received 18,000 nominations this time and out of which 4,000 nominations were submitted online.